• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dead Space

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Aztroth

So is anyone playing this? I'm surprised I haven't seen much talk of this on here. I started playing it when I first got it, but I had also picked up Fallout 3 at the same time, so I've been playing that non-stop for a while (well, not non-stop. walking around gets me sick aftera couple hours)

So, I started playing Dead Space again last night and have made it to chapter 3. I like it, its pretty kewl so far. The fact that it's a third person game that controls like first person is kinda wierd, and takes some getting used to.

Also, its pretty obvious that this was made for a console originally, because the keyboard and mouse controls are funky to say the least. but I plugged in my Playstation 2 controller and its extremely enjoyable now. The fact that you have to create your own gamepad config in a text file out side of the game is kind of annoying, but at the same time, its nice to be able to control every aspect of the layout.

I've been playing on max settings flawlessly since I started, and it does look pretty! :D And I gotta say, starting out with a cutting laser instead of a gun is pretty cool. Expecially since the gun does crap to them unless you put ~100 bullets into them. So far my favorite weapon is the Line Beam. Its pretty fun to have a couple things come at you from the wall vents and to either
A: Slice all of their legs off in one shot
B: Use Stasis on them and launch a "Mine" that slicing everything into piece when it explodes :p.

overall, its a pretty good game, but I also enjoyed DOOM 3 a lot, so that might be part of it, lol :D