• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T first try overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dameischdr

Hi everybody!

I'm completely new to the overclocking stuff and I'd like to get my AMD Phenom II X6 1090T processor to more power since my games dont run as smoothly anymore.

I found this video from NCIX, but the specs used there dont work for me:

I'll be grateful for all of your advice on how to start and what I can maybe expect.

My specs are:
Motherboard: ASUS M4A87TD Evo
Memory: Kingston 8 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
Graphic card: AMD Radeon HD 7800 2GB

You don't have the same components that Linus used in the video. Even if you did, every CPU, even of the same model will have a different overclocking potential because of differences in silicon quality and variations in manufacturing processes.

What are you cooling the CPU with? Did you notice that Linus in the video is using a huge CPU cooler and it looks like he is overclocking on an open test bed. Both those factors will be an advantage in overclocking because they keep temps lower. AMD CPUs of that generation were very sensitive to temps.

Tell us about your CPU cooler, your PSU and your case and case fans please. Makes and models.

And have you checked out our "sticky" here on OCF for overclocking AMD CPUs in that generation.

We never, never recommend taking someone else's overclock values and plugging them into your bios in order to overclock - at least not with regard to the the higher end of the overclock range of what a system will likely achieve. We might give some vanilla, safe values to get you started that will probably work in the initial stages of the process.